43rd Annual Conference of New England Governors and Eastern Canadian Premiers

News Release – 43rd Annual Conference of New England Governors and Eastern Canadian Premiers

Conference of New England Governors and Eastern Canadian Premiers Highlights Importance of Cross-Border Relationship

The following statement is released on behalf of Nova Scotia Premier Iain Rankin, New Brunswick Premier Blaine Higgs, Prince Edward Island Premier Dennis King, Newfoundland and Labrador Premier Andrew Furey, Québec Minister Nadine Girault, Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont, Massachusetts Governor Charlie Baker, Maine Governor Janet Mills, Vermont Governor Phil Scott, Rhode Island Governor Daniel McKee, and New Hampshire Governor Chris Sununu regarding the 43rd annual conference of the New England Governors and Eastern Canadian Premiers, which took place virtually, today, May 17th, 2021.

The New England Governors and Eastern Canadian Premiers (NEG/ECP) have a long, successful history of working together to promote our shared cross-border priorities and our closely integrated economies.

Governors and Premiers were pleased to be able to meet today to continue to build on our unique and important relationship to address the shared priorities of our region, including strengthening our economies, the fight against climate change, and the unprecedented challenges associated with the COVID-19 pandemic.

They recognized the commitment of health care and all essential workers during these extraordinary times and thank them for keeping our citizens healthy and safe.

The pandemic has demonstrated that it is more important than ever for jurisdictions to work together, to share best practices, and to continue to strengthen our economic and social ties.

The combined GDP of the NEG/ECP member states is approximately $2.09 trillion CDN ($1.58 T USD) in the year 2019. Governors and Premiers remain committed to strengthening this relationship and cross- border trade.

As jurisdictions look to stay globally competitive while rebuilding their regional economies, Governors and Premiers noted the importance of economic recovery, with particular attention on the impact of COVID-19 on their respective economies. Premiers and Governors discussed at length the need to strengthen cross-border trade and other activities between the regions as part of their collective response to assist with economic recovery.

Governors and Premiers noted that a high rate of vaccination amongst the two populations is necessary for the economic recovery of both countries. They agreed to call on their respective national governments of the United States and Canada in support of the continued sharing of surplus vaccines to Canada.

States and Provinces are committed to the work required to transition the region to a low-carbon economy. Governors and Premiers are pleased to report that the region is expected to meet its 2020 target of reducing greenhouse gas emissions 10 per cent below 1990 levels, keeping with the historic commitments made by the NEG/ECP to lower greenhouse gas emissions in 2001.

Governors and Premiers look forward to continuing to work together to further reduce the region’s emissions as countries around the world look to increase their climate ambition at the international level. This includes reaffirming the region’s commitment to meet the target of reducing greenhouse gas emissions 35-45 per cent below 1990 levels by 2030.

To help achieve this work, Governors and Premiers have asked that the NEG/ECP committees and working groups continue their efforts to advance issues of importance to the region, including renewable energy and clean technology solutions.

Governors and Premiers look forward to building on the important work of this unique relationship between States and Provinces during the 44th annual meeting to be hosted in New England in 2022.

The Conference of New England Governors and Eastern Canadian Premiers was formed in 1973 to advance common interests of the six New England states and five Eastern Canadian provinces. The Conference represents the following 11 states and provinces: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Québec.