Annual Meeting of the Federal-Provincial-Territorial Committee of Ministers on Internal Trade


WHITEHORSE, Yukon – October 15, 2009  Federal/Provincial/Territorial Ministers responsible for Internal Trade met today in Whitehorse. The Honourable Jim Kenyon, Yukon Minister of Economic Development, chaired the meeting.

“I am pleased with the progress that has been made today,” said Minister Kenyon.  “The Government of Yukon continues to support the work of the Committee on Internal Trade. We believe strongly in the importance of an agreement on internal trade endorsed by all Canadian jurisdictions.”

Ministers gave their approval to the Eleventh Protocol of Amendment to the Agreement on Internal Trade (AIT), which revises Chapter Nine on Agricultural and Food Goods. The chapter will enter into force as soon as all Parties’ signatures are received.  The revised chapter is in line with instructions given previously by both the Council of the Federation (COF) and the Committee on Internal Trade (CIT). It constitutes a major improvement over the current chapter as it extends its coverage to all technical measures related to agricultural products.  This will further facilitate inter-provincial trade for the benefit of all Canadians, including producers and processors.  The revised agriculture chapter (attached) will not apply to measures relating to supply management systems regulated by federal or provincial governments or provincially regulated marketing boards.

Parties made progress on a new Energy Chapter, to bring this important sector of the Canadian economy within the AIT. Parties agreed to work in the coming weeks to try to resolve outstanding issues.

All Parties welcomed the recent entry into force of the new AIT Dispute Resolution Chapter, which will significantly strengthen the enforcement mechanisms for government to government disputes.  Ministers agreed to consider options for improving the person to government dispute resolution process.

The Committee received oral reports on:

  • Implementation of the Labour Mobility Chapter;
  • A regulatory harmonization work plan;
  • Nunavut’s proposed accession to the AIT; and
  • The Ontario-Quebec Trade and Cooperation Agreement.

Ministers expressed their appreciation to the Canadian Federation of Independent Business for its informative presentation that focused on the impact of government regulations on small businesses in Canada.

In June 2010, Saskatchewan will host the next annual meeting of the CIT, under the chairmanship of the Honourable Ken Cheveldayoff, Saskatchewan Minister Responsible for Trade.

Established under the Agreement on Internal Trade (1994), the CIT meets annually to review progress on reducing or eliminating barriers to trade, investment and labour mobility across Canada.

- 30 -


Richard Provan, Internal Trade Representative, Yukon  (867) 456 3909
Anna Maria Magnifico, Executive Director, Internal Trade Secretariat (204) 987 8094